History of Australian Open Tennis Championship

Australian Open is a historic international tennis tournament played in Melbourne, Australia annually every January-February. The history states that it was started in 1905. It is the first tournament of the Grand Slam series of tennis, after this, the French Open, Wimbledon, and US Open are organized respectively.

From the beginning, grass courts were used to play all matches which were discontinued later. It had prize money AUD $62,500,000 (62.5 Million) in 2019 and A$71 Million in 2020.

Recently, the Australian Open 2020 (AO20) edition was played from 20th January- 02nd February 2020. All matches are categorized and played in different categories like gender & disability bases.

It has the following major categories of matches

  1. Men’s Single & Men’s Double
  2. Women’s Single & Women’s Double
  3. Boys Singles & Boys Doubles
  4. Girls Single & Girls Double
  5. Men’s Wheel Chair Singles & Men’s Wheelchair Double
  6. Women’s Wheel Chair Singles & Women’s Wheelchair Double
  7. Men’s Quad Wheelchair Singles & Men’s Wheelchair Doubles.
  8. Mixed Doubles

Total 15 Categories are there in which players compete for trophy and prize money of course.

Brief History

As discussed earlier It was started in 1905 almost 115 years ago from today. Grass courts were used to play the game up till 1987 and from 1988 to date hard courts are being used to play this tournament.

It was known as Australasian Championships and later in 1927 as Australian Championships. It has been played in different cities of Australia & New Zealand e.g. Adelaide, Brisbane, Christchurch, Hastings, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney. It was not declared a major championship until 1924 by International Lawn Tennis Federation (ILTF).

It was being played in different cities until 1972, then the organizer’s committee decided to shift the venue to Melbourne Park in 1988 after Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club up to 1972. Melbourne was selected because it got the largest patronage of any Australian city.

The venue change proved to be a good decision in the Australian Open history, as it captures a lot more crowd and spectators in 1988 when it’s been shifted from a grass court to blue hard courts with 266,436 crowds as compared to last year.

Governing Body

Australian Open was formerly known as the Australian Championships in history. Now, It’s being governed by Tennis Australia. It was known as the Lawn Tennis Association of Australia (LTAA).

Australian Open Ranking Points/Scoring Distribution

In the following tables, complete points distribution per round for the Australian Open is given, these points are awarded at the end of each round.


W= Winner


SF= Semi-finalist

QF = Quarter Finalist

Event 4R3R2R1R

4R= 4th Round

3R=3rd Round

2R= 2nd Round

1R = 1st Round


1R = 1st Round

Q3=3rd Quarter

Q2= 2nd Quarter

Q1 = 1st Quarter

Tennis Courts of Australian Open

In 1988 It was moved to Australia’s Melbourne Park which is going on till now. This tournament has major three courts in this park  Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne Arena, and Margaret Court Arena. (Give Pictures)

Rod Laver Arena

It was inaugurated on 11th January 1988 & renovated later in 1995. It has a seating capacity of more or less 15000 (14820). Apart from tennis other games like Basket Balls and commonwealth games are also played in this arena.

Rod Laver Arena

Melbourne Arena

The Melbourne Arena was inaugurated on the 27th of July 2000 costs A$65 Million. It has a seating capacity of 10500 with a retractable roof. It does not host tennis games only but Basketball, Netball, Commonwealth games along entertainment events also held here.

Melbourne Arena

Margaret Court Arena

Margaret Arena was opened in 1988 & renovated and expanded later in 2014. This arena has a seating capacity of 7500 persons. It was renamed from Show court one to the current name in the early 21st century i.e. 2003 paying attribute to most successful woman tennis player.

The Margreta court has also got a retractable roof covering the crowd from weather conditions. The arena hosts many other events such as Basketball, netball and musical concerts, etc.

Margaret Court Arena

Prize Money

The prize money for the Australian Open has its own history, as it was not very high in the early days. Now, the management has fixed substantial prize money, as it was A$71,000,000 in 2020.

When players play and win games after very congested & cumbersome struggle, that’s why the need to encourage by awarding them rewards in the shape of prize money and trophies. Prize money is divided equally to Men and Women. It recognizes their struggle and hard work. Details are as under.

Australian Open Winners

The year-wise details of the Australian open champions (Men’s Singles) are as under. The Novak Djokovic has won 8 times which is most of the titles (singles) in the Australian Open history. In the Men’s doubles, Adrian Quist has won this title i.e. 10 times in history.

While talking about Women’s Singles Margaret Court has won the Australian Open 11 times in history in the Amateur era and in the Open era Serena Williams has got 7 titles. While in the doubles category Thelma Coyne Long has won 12 titles.

Men’s and Women’s Singles

YearChampion Name (Men’s)Champion Name (Women’s)
2020Novak DjokovicSofia Kenin
2019Novak DjokovicNaomi Osaka
2018Roger FedererCaroline Wozniacki
2017Roger FedererSerena Williams
2016Novak DjokovicAngelique Kerber
2015Novak DjokovicSerena Williams
2014Stan WawrinkaLi Na
2013Novak DjokovicVictoria Azarenka
2012Novak DjokovicVictoria Azarenka
2011Novak DjokovicKim Clijsters
Australian Open Men’s and Women’s Singles Champion

Leave a Comment